Lent calendars

I first made a Lent calendar ages ago when my boys were little.  You can see a bit about it here. It fell by the wayside a little, until this year with a precocious 4 year old in the house, and the discovery of lots of purple tissue paper.

Then today I found a printable worksheet thanks to Nancy at Do Small Things With Love.

I’m not sure what it is about calendars – I used to make Term calendars when I was at school, so that sort of carried over into homeschool plans. My first idea behind making a calendar for Lent was to check exactly which days counted towards the sum of 40 days. I first heard of Sundays not being included in the count when I was about 18 and denying that this could be true – then of course finding they were right!

You can use just about anything to make a Lent calendar.  I once made a long strip of paper with the forty days on them – lentcal.pdf – or you can arrange the days in a winding pattern, top to bottom or bottom to top as you please.

Have a good Lent!

Leave a Reply

